It was with much enthusiasm for Premiere Academy students in SS2 to participate at the 2016 NISSMUN conference. While the management team were bidding the students farewell, the Principal admonished them not just to be good ambassadors of the school but also of themselves and their respective families.

The four-day programme began with the arrival of participating schools and delegates, the second day delegates were re-grouped into different countries to re-model the United Nations and Premiere Academy delegates were chosen as Country Heads. They were later separated into the appropriate country committees to which they belonged for group discussions held by the various Directors.

The Opening Ceremony for the 2016 NISSMUN held on the third day and was graced by the high and mighty of society - either in person or through representatives.  Among them was the Swiss Ambassador (who spoke on the theme of this year’s conference) and Nigeria’s Honourable Minister of Environment, Hajia Amina Mohammed, who urged the students to always strive to make meaningful contributions to effect needed change in the communities they represent.

On the fourth day, the committees held their sessions followed by a visit to the Embassy and High Commissions. Four delegates from Premiere Academy were selected to visit Switzerland and Denmark.  By the evening of that day there was a Cultural Night with performances from different schools and Premiere Academy performed a playlet and a musical dance display. The fifth day was characterised by delegate examinations that scaled through the application process for different posts.  Among the successful delegates was a representative from Premiere Academy who contested and won the seat of The President of the General Assembly.

The climax of a week long conference was the receipt of the awards. The following were received by our students:

·         President of the General Assembly: Chinemema Emma-Ugoji.

  • ·         Best in Cultural Display.
  • ·         Third Best Delegation.
  • ·         Best Delegate in International Maritime Organization (IMO): Chinemema Emma-Ugoji.
  • ·         Third Best Female Delegate: Chika Nzenwa


Other seats won were:

  • ·         Rapporteur for United Nations on Drugs and Crimes: Eferemo Ohwahwa.
  • ·         Chairperson for UN Habitat: Ifeanyi Ossai
  • ·         Chairperson for United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean: Tolu Ibiwoye
  • ·         Chairperson for commission on Sustainable Development: Somto Issac